Staff-768x512

Our Support Staff

Jennifer,
Office Manager

My family and I moved into the area 15 years ago, after having lived in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma. My husband, Tom, and I have two daughters, Rachel and Maggie. I am a happy grandmother of 3 beautiful granddaughters. My family is owned by two cats named Jasper and Junie. Over the last 25 years, I have worked in a variety of positions at veterinary clinic in Minnesota, Oklahoma and Iowa. When I am not at work, I enjoy reading, gardening and shopping.


In Memory of Romeo, 2005-2019.

Romeo joined our staff back in May of 2012. He lived a life of luxury and surrounded by women. He enjoyed sleeping, more sleeping, eating wet food, and being grouchy. He spent most of his time being a great desk ornament, but did not mind a ear scratch or two.


Sam,
Head RVT

I graduated from the Kirkwood Vet tech program in 2011. I currently live in Cedar Rapids with my two dogs (Magnus and Dougal), two cats (Seamus and Siobhan), one guinea pig (PigPig) and I also have a horse named Muffin Man. In my free time, I enjoy watching movies, spending time with friends and family, jamming out to BTS, and attending indoor soccer games.


Dean (They/Them),
RVT

I graduated from the Muscatine Community College Vet Tech program in 2016 and have been working as a registered veterinary technician since then. I am non-binary and use they/them pronouns. When I’m not working I like to spend my free time playing video games and spending time with my cats.


Kayla,
RVT

I love this field and the work I do. I became a Certified Veterinary Technician from Kirkwood’s program in 2017. I have since spent time in both small animal primary medicine and working in a specialty/emergency setting. When I am not at work trying to soak up as much knowledge and experience as possible I am probably with my fur babies.


Sarah,
Veterinary Assistant

I have lived in a variety of cities and towns all over Iowa since birth. I currently share my home base with my 3 cats; Merlvin Alfred, Nermal Ophelia, and Petrie Sharptooth. I received my Veterinary Assistant diploma at Western Iowa Tech Community College in 2013. Outside of work I am smothering my kitties with love, playing video games, reading, and watching DIY videos on Youtube.


Elysia,
Veterinary Assistant

I grew up in a small town in southeast Iowa. I spent 2 years at Iowa State studying Animal Science. This is where I learned I wanted to work in the veterinary field. I then transferred to Kirkwood and graduated in 2017 with my Veterinary Assistant certificate. I have since settle down in another small town with my husband, daughter, and three cats; Lorelai, Prudence, and Kermit. When I’m not spending time with my family and friends I enjoy shopping, antiquing, and watching Christmas movies.


Hannah,
Veterinary Assistant

I graduated from the Veterinary Assistant program at Kirkwood in 2018. I am from West Branch but currently live in Riverside with my fiancé, son, and year-old daughter. We share our home with four dogs, Spryo, Chloe, Kiba and Haku; three cats, Bella, Midge, and Freyha, and a few fish. I like to spend time with my family, watching my favorite TV shows, introducing my daughter to BTS, and petting corgis.


Branda,
Veterinary Assistant

I graduated from Kirkwood’s Veterinary Assistant program in 2019 and I’ve been working with Animal Kingdom since. I currently live with my boyfriend, 4 dogs; Cisco, Akuma, Koko, and Floyd, 3 cats; Jazz, Stormy, and Tora, and 3 lovable ferrets. I enjoy watching TV/anime, reading manga, and spending time with friends.


Brandy,
Veterinary Assistant

I graduated from Kirkwood’s Veterinary Assistant Program in 2019. I have been with Animal Kingdom since June of 2020. I was born and raised in Williamsburg. I have two cats, Conan and Nala. I enjoy spending time with family and friends, reading and watching tv/movies.


Kaleigh,
Veterinary Assistant

I grew up in Iowa City around cats and dogs, then moved into North Liberty when I was older. I received my Veterinary Assistant certification at Kirkwood in 2020 and I completed my internship here. Now I have two cats and several fish at home. I love to write, sing (badly), listen to BTS, and play video games in my free time.


Katie,
Veterinary Assistant

I grew up in southern Wisconsin and moved to Iowa in 2020. I’m finishing my final semester online with Penn Foster’s Veterinary Technician program and hope to become an RVT in 2022. I really enjoy working with exotic animals, especially reptiles and amphibians. I live on a farm with my fiancé, 3 dogs; Ducky, Lola, and Poppy, 2 cats; Salix and Goulash, 2 rats; Feta and Provolone, and 2 horses; Image and Max. In my free time I enjoy horseback riding, reading, spending time outside, and crocheting blankest that I will never finish.


Octavianna,
Veterinary Assistant

I graduated as an assistant from the Animal Behavior College online course and have been working in the Veterinary field since 2017. I love my job and am passionate about animal care, training, and exotic pets, specifically reptiles. I live locally with my boyfriend and our pack of dogs. I am excited to continue to grow and learn more about this exciting, always changing field. I have a huge soft spot for German Shepherds!


Izzy,
Student Intern

I have a passion for animals and am on my way to graduating from Iowa State University as an Animal Science Major. I’m set to graduate in 2025 and after I’d like to continue my education in Emergency Veterinary Medicine. Aside from animals, I’d also like to pursue criminal justice and psychology. I currently am owned by a German Shepard mutt named Tyrone. He’s 5 years old and still very much puppylike! I enjoy returning to my hometown of North Liberty to see family and friends, working with my Animal Kingdom family during my breaks and any activities that involve coffee. GO STATE!